Unleash your inner Katniss and take your best shot at archery


20140109-223117.jpg
My early knowledge of archery is somewhat framed by the cartoon version of Robin Hood; where the infamous archer is played by a wiley yet charming fox hoping to win the heart of the equally adorable Maid Marian.

Said fox was a dab hand with a bow and arrow and with Little-john as his trusty side-kick, he was able to forcibly restore peace to Nottingham. I didn’t have such high expectations for my archery debut however.

Once again using my husband as my own side-kick, we pulled up to ‘Have a Shot’ just on the outskirts of Wanaka on our New Zealand holiday. Once inside, we were donned with a bow each (mine a left-handed one) and proceeded to indeed, have a shot.

I’ll not keep you in suspense for my performance was pretty poor: as to be expected according to my husband, who rather annoyingly managed to strike most of his arrows on target. (Between you and me, I think he fancied himself as Legolas in this Lord of the Rings realm: shooting arrows into orcs. Forgive me for the analogy; my brain has been flooded with LOTR trivia since the start of our holiday!)

Getting the hang of how to hold the bow, string up the arrow and set it flying takes practice and skill so I found out. I wasn’t completely useless at it; I managed to score a full 10 points after striking lucky with my final arrow of the session. My husband totted a total of 225 in the same time.

With recent news of increasing numbers of girls involving themselves in archery since the popularity of the Hunger Games, I may just haul a group of friends for an afternoon’s catch up while shooting some arrows, though I may have to consider honing my inner Katniss Everdeen first.

2 thoughts on “Unleash your inner Katniss and take your best shot at archery

  1. Sounds like you had a fantastic time and what a place to shoot, so close to mirkwood 🙂 Don’t be put off by low scores as a beginner, as with most things in life, it takes practice, practice, practice. Archery is a great way to get away from your everyday life, meet great people and enjoy doing an activity that goes back tens of thousands of years.

    Best wishes,
    YearoftheBow

    • Thanks for your words of encouragement! I’m planning to have a few lessons and hopefully hone my somewhat basic skills. I really enjoyed it and who knows, perhaps with a bit of fine tuning I’ll be on my way to the Olympics in a few years?! Thanks again and happy reading!

What do you think about this post?

